Yeo Chee Kiong


Yeo Chee Kiong (b. 1970) is a contemporary sculptor and installation artist who is fascinated with the language and spatial relationship between object, space and authorship. His work destabilises the familiar notions of spatial proportions and perspectives, whilst examining the human conditions in the construction of an extended surreal world.

As an alumnus of the Glasgow School of Art (UK) and the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts (Singapore), his list of conferred awards and commendations include the NAFA Distinguished Alumni Medal for his outstanding achievement in Singapore art scene (2016), SG50 Commemorative Public Sculpture Competition, National Museum of Singapore (2015), JTC Green Core Public Sculpture Open Call (2014), the LTA Downtown Line Art Competition, ExpoStation (2012), Legacy Sculpture for Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Village Sculpture Competition, Grand prize for the APB Foundation Signature Art Prize (2008), NAC Young Artist Award (2006), 14th Asian Artists Award, VSC Fellowships (2006 – 2007), Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts 68th Founder’s Day Commendation Award (2006) and Grand prize for the 2nd CDL Singapore Sculpture Award (2005). Yeo was also short-listed as one of the 25 outstanding finalists amongst a total of 574 international entries whilst participating in the International Competition for Young Sculptors in Milan, Italy in 2006.

He has presented a number of solo exhibitions at Juming Art Museum, Taipei (2017), Ngee Ann Kongsi Galleries, NAFA, Singapore (2016), Cite International Des Arts, Paris (2013), Richard Koh Fine Art Gallery, Singapore (2011), Esplanade –Concourse, Singapore (2009), National Museum of Singapore (2007), Esplanade – Jendela Gallery, Singapore (2007), Red Mill Gallery, Vermont Studio Centre (2006) and The Substation, Singapore (2001).

Yeo’s work has also been part of a number of internationally recognised group exhibitions, biennales and symposiums including “Sculpture Survey 2018”, 35th Annual Exhibition, Gomboc Gallery, Perth, 14th Qita Asian Sculpture Exhibition, FumioAsakura Sculpture Museum, Japan (2018), Keelung Harbour Biennale, Taiwan (2018), Venice Biennale, Italy (2017), 3rd FORMOSA Sculpture Biennial, Taiwan (2017), Suide International Stone Sculpture Symposium, China (2017), Art in The Forest, Hanoi, Vietnam (2017), Asia Sculpture Exchange Exhibition, Japan(2016), Sculpture @ Silk Road,Dun Huang, China (2016), Taiwan International Miniature Sculpture Exhibition, Taipei (2015), Zhuo Zheng Ya Ji, Suzhou, China (2015), the 25th and 26th UBE Biennale, UBE City, Japan (2013/2015), Art Amoy Art Fair, Xiamen, China (2015), the 3rd China Sculpture Almanac Exhibition, Beijing, China (2013), ‘Sculpture by the Sea’, Aarhus/Sydney (2013/2007), Sculpture Inside, Arhus (2013), Singapore Contemporary Art Exhibition, Suzhou, China (2013), ‘Don’t Sit On Me’, Tun Tan Cheng Lock Centre, Melaka, Malaysia (2012), Hong Kong International Sculpture Symposium (2012), ‘Sound of Peace – ROC Centennial Peace Day’, Jinmen (2011), Nanjing Biennale, Jiangsu, China (2010), East Asia Art Exhibition, Seoul, Korea (2010), International Urban Sculpture Symposium, Urumqi, China (2009), Busan Biennale, Korea (2008), International Sculpture Symposium for Chinese Sculptors, City of Assen, Holland (2008), Taiwan International Wood Sculpture Symposium, Taiwan (2008), ‘Premio Fondazione Arnaldo Pomodoro’, Milan, Italy (2006), ‘From There to Here’, Kyoto, Japan (2005), Singapore Culture Society Art Exhibition, Sri Lanka (2001), and the 27th International Snow Sculpture Symposium, Quebec (1998).

He was the recipient of the Dr. Mary Doughty Smith Scholarship at Glasgow School of Art and John Kinross Scholarship at Royal Scottish Academy.

In the course of his career, Yeo has held several appointments including Acting President of the Sculpture Society (Singapore) (2014), Chairman of Telok Kurau Studios Management Committee (2014 – 2016), Advisor, Norwegian Collaborative Organisation for Contemporary Art Abroad, London (2011 – 2015), Committee Member of Public Art Appraisal Committee, National Heritage Board, (2010 – 2013); Member of Curriculum Development Advisory Committee of NAFA, Fine Art Department (2011 – 2014)(2018-2020), Panel Member of Young Artist Award’s Specialist Panel for Visual Art, National Arts Council (2012, 2013, 2016), Panel Member of Cultural Medallion Specialist Panel for Visual Art, National Arts Council (2018). President of the Sculpture Society (Singapore) (2005 – 2009, 2015 – 2019).